Philosophy Department: Graduate Students

Aaron Arinder
email: aarinder@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Missouri-Columiba; M.A., University of Wisconsin
Interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology, Ethics

Sophie Ban
email: sban@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Rutgers University
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language

Rose Bell
email: rabell@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.S. (Psych), East Tennessee State University
Interests: Ethics, ethical theory, philosophy of mind, philosophy of action

Teresa Bruno Nino
email: tbrunoni@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., UNAM; M.A., University of Kansas
Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Action Metaphysics, Epistemology
http://teresabruno.org
Çağla Çimendereli
email: ycimende@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., M.A., Bogazici University
Interests: Metaethics, Political Philosophy

Sean Clancy
email: sclancy@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Princeton, M.A., University of Maryland
Interests: Ethics, Free Will, Moral Psychology
https://sites.google.com/site/seanclancyphilosophy
Benjamin Cook
email: bkcook@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Central Florida
Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Political Philosophy, Metaethics, Logic

Lorenza D'Angelo
email: lodangel@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University La Sapienza-Rome, Italy
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Action

Dante Dauksz
email: ddauksz@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Toronto
Interests: Epistemology, Metaphysics in Early Modern Philosophy

Jon Delmendo
email: jjdelmen@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
Interests: History of Philosophy

Thiago de Melo
email: txdemelo@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Federal University of Ceara; M.A., Federal University of Rio de Janeiro
Interests: Metaphysics, Logic

Huzeyfe Demirtas
email: hdemirta@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., SUNY-Fredonia
Interests: Logic, Metaphysics, History of Philosophy, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

Naomi Dershowitz
email: nsdersho@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Cornell University
Interests: Metaphysics

Nicole Dular
email: ndular@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., The New School; M.A., Brandeis University
Interests: Metaethics, Normative Ethics
http://nicoledular.weebly.com/
Kendall Fisher
email: kaenglun@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Calvin College
Interests: Medieval Philosophy, Early Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics
https://sites.google.com/site/kendallfisherphilosophy/
Nikki Fortier
email: nfortier@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Manitoba; M.A., University of Manitoba
Interests: Applied Ethics, Normative Ethics, Pol. Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy
http://www.nikkifortier.com
Carolyn Garland
email: cegarlan@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Manitoba
Interests: Metaphysics, Logic, Epistemology
http://cegarlan.mysite.syr.edu/
Joseph Hedger
email: jhedger@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., M.A., Arizona State University
Interests: Cognitive Science, Consciousness, Phil. of Psychology, Phil. of Language

Arturo Javier Castellanos
email: aajavier@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., National Autonomous University of Mexico
Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics
http://aajavier.mysite.syr.edu/
Li Kang
email: lkang02@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Wuhan University, MPhil., University of St. Andrews
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Buddhist Philosophy
http://www.li-kang.org/
Matthew Koehler
email: mkoehler@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
M.A., SUNY-Binghamton
Interests: Ethics, Political Philosophy

Alex Krantz
email: jakrantz@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Augsburg College
Interests: Kierkegaard, Ancient Ethics

James Lee
email: jslee09@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Emory University; M.A., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Logic

Isaiah Lin
email: islin@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., U.C. Santa Barbara; M.A., Biola University
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language

William (Scott) Looney
email: wslooney@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Auburn University
Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics

Yaojun Lu
email: ylu46@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Shandong University; M.A., Sun Yat-Sen University
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

Gabriel McDonald
email: gjmcdona@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Notre Dame
Interests: Philosophy of Language, History of Philosophy (especially 19th Century Political Philosophy)

Robert Muckle
email: rjmuckle@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Massachusetts-Amherst; M.A., Leeds University-Great Britain
Interests: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind

William Osborne III
email: wgosborn@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Millsaps College; M.A., Louisiana State University; M.F.A., Louisiana State University
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Action, Aesthetics

Hamed Shirmohammadi
email: hshirmoh@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.S., KN Toosi University of Technology-Tehran; M.S., Sharif University of Technology; M.A., Texas Tech University
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics

Byron Simmons
email: bsimmons@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Interests: Metaphysics, Ethics
http://bsimmons.mysite.syr.edu/
Jags Singh
email: jsdosanj@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Simon Fraser University
Interests: Pragmatism, Ethics, Philosophy of Science

Jason Singletary
email: jcsingle@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Valdosta State University; M.A., Kent State University
Interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology

Jan Swiderski
email: jaswider@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., University of Ottawa; M.A., Queens University-Kingston
Interests: Metaphysics and Ontology

Joshua Tignor
email: jttignor@syr.edu
office: 541 Hall of Languages
B.A., Austin College; M.A., Texas Tech University
Interests: Ethics, Metaethics

Contact Us

HLcloudy170.png

Department of Philosophy
541 Hall of Languages
Phone: 315-443-2245
Fax: 315-443-5675

Email: philosophy@syr.edu